Topic: Teddy Thompson's version of Leonard Cohen's "Tonight Will Be Fine"

Hey all-

I need some help y'all (I'm a real beginner) with a chord in Teddy Thompson's version of Leonard Cohen's "Tonight Will Be Fine" from the I'm Your Man documentary. (I really dig it!)

http://www.chordie.com/chord.pere/www.p … TONITE.TXT

I've found some forums where I've got it all worked out ... but they've all seemed to have missed something that makes it sound a bit boring ... in the end of the third line in each verse there's a chord that differs from the other lines ... (I think the other three lines all end in an "E" .... )

I have the Capo on the second fret and play an "E" then "B7" then back to "E"
The same pattern is repeated for all four lines in the verse ... EXCEPT for the final "E" in the third line ...

It sounds a little "flatter" or "sharper" ... but I'm so new at this that I can't work it out.

Here's where I can pick it up by ear, but can't work it out on my guitar ... when he sings the words:
"...surely last" (on last) then on "...one chair" (on chair) ... and finally on "...so free" (on free)

Here's a link to the video on YouTube.  I appreciate any help, advice or recommendations.
Thanks so much!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8W89j6GjPDI

I also see that where I'm playing the "B7" he's playing something else ... I play it like this:

E-0-2-
B-0-0-
G-0-2-
D-1-0-
A-0-2-
E-0-0-

But quite frankly, it's not the most comfortable chord to try to "squeeze in" under the capo.
Any suggestions that might make this easier to play (or perhaps even sound better)?

P.S. Looking closely to the video, I think I saw Teddy's trick and figured out that when he plays the "A" in the chorus, it's not really a true "A" but just this ... anyone know what it is or what it's called (or if I'm way off base)?

E-0-0-
B-0-0-
G-0-2-
D-0-2-
A-0-0-
E-x-x-

Thanks.

Re: Teddy Thompson's version of Leonard Cohen's "Tonight Will Be Fine"

Barcelona_chordie wrote: