Topic: GUITAR STRINGS/ PLAYING

Hello! I have a Jasmine by Takamine acoustic guitar which I'm learning on now.  I've been playing for about 4 months every single day.  I've played other guitars and find them much much easier on the fingers! Is the Jasmine harder to play than others?

After 4 months my fingers look all chewed up. If I play for more then a 20 mins my fingers look nasty. Is that normal?  Also, barre chords on the Jasmine are difficult. I tried another guitar in a store and it seemed easier to barre.  Is this all my imagination or is this type of guitar tougher to play?   Thanks.

Re: GUITAR STRINGS/ PLAYING

Hello Maine smile  I have a Takamine as well though it's the "G" series ... a couple factors will come into play as far as your fingers getting chewed up ... alot of posters will give you the same advice

1.  Action on the fret board ... if the action is high (space between the string and the fret board) you'll have to exert more pressure to hold the string down to the frets

2.  Your fingers will get "chewed" up until they're utilized enough and start to grow calluses ... once your fingers stop hurting you'll see the tips of your fingers will grow calluses ... also, sometimes that doesnt even help ... if I'm playing any acoustic guitar for an extended period of time my fingers will start hurting big time even with calluses

3.  Different guitars will give you a different feel ... for example the neck might be wider, thicker, thinner, or the action might be lower and thus not kill your fingers

Hope this helps!

Electric:  Gibson Les Paul Studio, Schecter Omen 6, PRS SE Custom
Acoustic:  Fender Talman, Yamaha
Amp:  Fender Super Champ XD/Line6 Spider III 75

3 (edited by Clypxy 2008-05-09 19:06:39)

I've been playing for 10 months now, every second day, and I'm experiencing the exact same thing.