Topic: My First Chords - A Guide For Beginners

Hey all!
I have finally come up with a Total Beginner Lesson. Anybody out there who wants to start playing chords can check out my lesson

http://thefreeguitarlessons.blogspot.co … nners.html

Re: My First Chords - A Guide For Beginners

Your grip is weak.  You have your thumb hanging over the neck, rather than on the back of it.    Beginner lessons should demonstrate proper form at a minimum.  For open chords, thumb on the back of the neck.

Someday we'll win this thing...

[url=http://www.aclosesecond.com]www.aclosesecond.com[/url]

I'm really comfortable with playing it like this....
I wouldn't stay my grip is weak....or at least  i didnt feel it for the past 4 years... i didn't start playing yesterday tongue

Thumb up like that can serve a purpose, muting the low E string, what you have to watch out for is getting locked into it, which can really ache (it's one of my bad habits). Try barre chords, you'll have to get that thumb round the back to shift between barres quickly.

'The sound of the city seems to disappear'

Then you have four years of a bad habit to overcome.

Best get started now.

dont think so...i have seen so many unusual styles u cant even think of...and according to my research..... there is nothing wrong with it as long as ur comfortable with it ...anyways..
lets all be cool...we all have our own styles

Peace

Have to agree with Jerome here on this one. For a beginner, which your lessons are targeted to, you must establish solid, correct technique. While using the thumb to reach certain bass notes or to assist in string muting may be acceptable and practical for an experienced player it's a BIG no-no for a beginner. I teach guitar(and have 25 years playing) and I place great importance on thumb placement behind the neck. This is one the most important basic fundamentals a beginning guitarist should adopt. Nice gesture with your gift of lesson, a tiny bit of tweeking is needed though.