Topic: Strumming Pattern for Bad Moon Rising

Looking for the strumming pattern and timing for Bad Moon Rising CCR.

Re: Strumming Pattern for Bad Moon Rising

Here's how I play it:

Verses:
D           A      G      D
S DUDU  DDU  DDU  S DUDU  DDUDU

Chorus:
G                          D                          A          G            D
S DUDU  DDUDU     S DUDU  DDUDU     SDUDU   SDUDU    SDUDU

S = scratch,chop,mute, whatever you call it.

Not sure on the actual timing.

Let me know if that makes sense.

Keep Rockin!!!!!!!!!!!

I hate strum pattern questions because I really think the only way to learn them is to "feel" the song and develop them yourself. I doubt I ever strum the same song with the same pattern twice.

That said as a newbie, I totally understand getting hung up on patterns as I was the same way starting off. Welcome to chordie talkingrock, here's a vid that may help with your question.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-E9cDytsOmA

He discusses strumming towards the end.

Hope that helps, but I encourage you to experiment with your own patterns and learn to feel the song and strum whatever sounds good!

Rule No. 1 - If it sounds good - it is good!

Thanks very much... as a newbie and starting guitar at 50 i need all the help i can get..I tried to figure the strumming out by listing to the song a thousand times... but it didn't sound right..
Any easy songs you could forward would be greatly appreciated.

You can't get it by listening a thousand times.
You have to play along with the video a thousand times.
Figure out the lyrics and chords - then play along with until you match the rhythm of the arrangement.

We pronounce it "Guf Coast".
Ya'll wanna go down to the Guf?

talkingrock wrote:

Thanks very much... as a newbie and starting guitar at 50 i need all the help i can get..I tried to figure the strumming out by listing to the song a thousand times... but it didn't sound right..
Any easy songs you could forward would be greatly appreciated.